

Safer and Stronger Communities Overview and Scrutiny Committee

DateTuesday 25 February 2014Time9.30 amVenueCommittee Room 1A, County Hall, Durham

Business

Part A

Items during which the Press and Public are welcome to attend. Members of the Public can ask questions with the Chairman's agreement.

- 1. Apologies for Absence
- 2. Substitute Members
- 3. Minutes of the Meeting held 3 December 2013 (Pages 1 12)
- 4. Declarations of Interest, if any
- 5. Any items from Co-opted Members or Interested Parties
- 6. Media Relations
- 7. Public Mental Health Strategy and Suicide Prevention in County Durham: (Pages 13 38)
 - (i) Public Mental Health Strategy Report of Catherine Richardson, Public Health Lead.
 - (ii) Suicide Audit and Prevention in County Durham Report of Catherine Richardson, Public Health Lead.
- 8. Safe Durham Partnership Plan 2014-17: (Pages 39 46)

Report of the Director of Children and Adult Services – Community Safety Manager, Children and Adults Services.

9. Hate Crime Action Plan - Update: (Pages 47 - 68)

Report of the Director of Children and Adult Services – Community Safety Manager, Children and Adults Services.

10. Domestic Abuse Strategy and Action Plan 2012-15: (Pages 69 - 74)

Report of the Director of Children and Adults Services – Safer and Stronger Strategic Programme Manager, Children and Adults Services.

- Overview and Scrutiny Review Neighbourhood Wardens: Verbal Update.
- Police and Crime Panel: (Pages 75 78) Report of the Assistant Chief Executive.
- Safe Durham Partnership Update: (Pages 79 84)
 Briefing by the Community Safety Manager, Children and Adults Services.
- 14. Such other business as, in the opinion of the Chairman of the meeting, is of sufficient urgency to warrant consideration

Colette Longbottom

Head of Legal and Democratic Services

County Hall Durham 17 February 2014

To: The Members of the Safer and Stronger Communities Overview and Scrutiny Committee

Councillor D Boyes (Chairman) Councillor T Nearney (Vice-Chairman)

Councillors J Armstrong, J Charlton, P Conway, J Cordon, S Forster, J Gray, D Hall, C Hampson, B Harrison, M Hodgson, G Holland, J Maitland, N Martin, J Measor, K Shaw, W Stelling, P Stradling, J Turnbull and C Wilson

Co-opted Members: Mr A J Cooke, Mr M Iveson, Mr B Knevitt, Ms E Roebuck and Mr T Thompson

Co-opted Employees/Officers: Chief Superintendent G Hall, Mr J Hewitt and Mrs H Raine